And here I am.. in Lima, no more mosquitoes, no more sleepless night because of heat..

Lima is beautiful, it reminds me of Torino for some reason.. I really like it.

I have been here for 5 days now, I am in a great hostel, 1900 Backpackers, I made new friends… I have been happy.. but tonight, as a lightning, I realized I was not going back to my Bahia….

I weeped (like seriously weeped) alone… I was ready to leave Bahia because of all of the drama that I unfortunately got into the last weeks .. but now that I am far away I am realizing how much I will miss it.

I will miss going to see the sunset every day and attempt to have yoga sessions while the tide is rising just to eventually jump in the water..

I will miss having Avriel waking me up at stupid hours in the morning to go to the gym (I know, I am actually saying this..and I actually did it..)

I will miss going to eat encebollado with a big headache with Tessa and Avriel just because we have to get up and feel better..

I will miss dancing like there is no tomorrow with the whole group, until the sun rises.

I will miss sitting on the wall (el muro) drinking and dancing under the rain.

I will miss even Henry’s training sessions that left me without air for at least 1 hour after they were done…but were always followed by the best margaritas or beers.

I will miss all the amazing people that always kept me in a good mood even when things were going a bit wrong…

All the smiles, the nature, the love, the understanding and the intense research for a better future.

Bahia de Caraquez is lucky to have so many amazing people caring for it.

The energy that I felt there was impressive, for some reason there are heroes that stop there and try their best to fix this beautiful town, and when I say Heroes I am not exaggerating.. I was living with Heroes.

I wish all the best to them, and I thank them for letting me be part of it for a little.

I will never forget what I learned in these 5 months.

They changed me, from deep inside, all, the good and bad, but especially the good.

I love you Bahia. I will be back.

One thought on “Bahia de Caraquez

  1. These are beautiful words, and I am sure there is a hole in the hearts of each of your friends, too. Some of our holes await your lovely return to SF, CA!

    “You will never be completely at home again because part of your heart will be elsewhere. That is the price you pay for the richness of loving and knowing people in more than one place.”

    See you soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

